Prior Winners

The Toronto Metropolitan Int'l Screenwriting Competition

"Great contest! The staff is very communicative and have been so helpful in circulating my script and managers and producers. Within a week of the contest ending, they had already sent my script out and introduced me to more than half a dozen managers and producers. Highly recommend."
"Fabulous festival with quality and professional judges. Will enter again." 
"Amazing, Kind, helpful and passionate."
Last years winners were distributed to over fifty industry executives, including six personal introductions, and our grand prize winner received a one hour consultation with a top talent manager at Fictional Entertainment. 



Grand Prize Winner!

Rust - Justin Moran


Executed and Risen - Salvatore Bono
Dukkha - Rachana Suri


Worthy by Mary Griffitts
The Way of Dave by David Poulshock
The Secret World of Danny Lopez by Samuel Garza Bernstein
The Coup by Joe Ayella
A Jungle Dark by Courtney Suttle
Little Things Mean a Lot by Michael Monteith
The Beast by Eric Sollars
FOXRUN by Brad Nuber
Timber by Pat Stevens
Twilight Sleep by Alan Lambert
Scuppernongs by Lynne Ashe
The Peter Pan Dream by Chi Hsiu Chen


Great contest! The staff is very communicative and have been so helpful in circulating my script and managers and producers. Within a week of the contest ending, they had already sent my script out and introduced me to more than half a dozen managers and producers. Highly recommend.
I highly recommend this Festival; I had a very positive experience, and festival communications were excellent. I ordered the optional feedback, and the reader's notes were thoughtful and helpful for revisions. I'm very honored that my screenplay... was chosen as a semi-finalist; I plan to submit another script next year.
Outstanding festival. Excellent communication, and was contacted by one of the Directors informing me that I was selected as a top three finalist for my script. I was kept apprised of all activities and next steps in the process. My screenplay was sent to 6 agents/producers for consideration within 72 hours of notification! I highly recommend this festival and will gladly participate in it again! Thank you, TISC Team for make this event very special to me!


2018 Grand Prize Winner

The Outskirts of Paradise - Montgomery Burt

2018 Finalists

Egalite - Michael Head
A Good Marine - 
Tracey Thompson

2018 Semi Finalists

The Lost Tsar by James Rosenfeld
Bison Man by Michael Rhodes
Blackfoot by Wm. Derek Grasty
Hick by Marianna Moneymaker
Face Value by Mike Gallagher
A Century of Dreams by Brian Brockway
Stalag Dixie by L. Morris
Escape on the Danube by Daniel Costa
My Mother Murdered My Father by Josephine Perry
Immaculate by Charlie McNamara
Kananaskis by Brad Himour 
The Chronicles of Valor by Robert B.E. Atkinson
Hallow's Point by Brian W. Smith
Perry by R.J. Watson
The Great Canadian Gold Heist by The Nubers


I LOVE this Screenwriting Competition! Within a week of being notified that my Script was a finalist, they sent it out to 3 management companies and a movie producer!
Excellent festival and organising team! Was wonderful to get a personal call from Toronto to Belfast, Northern Ireland to congratulate me on my script! Highly reccommend!
Excellent contest! Any screenwriting competition that can provide its winners with access and exposure to real industry professionals is a contest worth submitting. Few competitions can actually provide this opportunity. Toronto International is the exception!


Winter 2017 Grand Prize Winner

Oren Weitz - Accidental Angel

Winter 2017 Finalists

Michael J Daly - Forgive Me Not
Hunter Davis - Cogged

Winter 2017 Semi Finalists

Sam Tsembides - Ghost Bride
Shanaya Fastje - Waiting for Infinity
Laurentiu D. Ghiran - Umbrella
Olga Rojer and John McCaslin - Paradise Club
Anthony Salamnon & Ronnie S. Riskalla - Fire Mountain
Peter Haig - A War on Terror
Tom Jenkins - She Came From Outer Space
Kate Langsdorf - Hank and Martha in the Basement
Doc Comparato - Bending Light
Kunal Gupta - The Sniper in the Mist

Jay Jaworski & Lisa  Morgigno - Jaworski - The Music Men
George N. Ennesser & R.W. Pangia Jr. - Rule 35
Kevin Bruce - After Alcatraz: Surviving the Escape
Annie Macdonald and Bob B. Mac - A Gator’s Tale
Skatz Baxter - Ocean Effect
Samuel Lee Taylor - At the Mercy of Faith
Mark Christopher Boyd - Even a Just Man Falls
Robert Cox - The Door
Marina Albert - Maid in America
Russell Beneke - The Island of Blooming Stones
Stephen Delos Treacy - Winter Bird 
Jason Jung - John Q
Hugh Burns - Nine Bullets in Paris
Thomas Nesti - HookUp Cinema
Sabrina Besla - Jolene
Danielle Erlich - Legacy
Phil Kaufman - The Last Game
Robert B.E. Atkinson - Chronicles of Valor: I II & III
Nic Wells - Rewrite


Loved it! Good people and very supportive!
Great Festival. They not only distributed my script, they personally got it to a producer i've been dying to get it to. So happy I submitted!
Great Festival.  Two thumbs up!
 I just signed with a manager in Beverly Hills!



Spring 2017 Grand Prize Winner!

It's Not What Happens by John Harris

Spring 2017 Finalists

Fifth Down by Brian Allen 
Napoleon by Kevin Karp
2017's winners' scripts were delivered to agents, managers, and producers throughout the entertainment industry as well as being personally delivered to the production company of the winner's choice! (Please note that we no longer deliver our finalists' scripts to the producer of their choice). 
2017's finalists were delivered to over forty production companies including, but not limited to, Amblin, 3 Arts, Working Title, Industry Ent, Authentic, Management 360, Anonymous, Luber Roklin, 108 Media, and 2929 Productions. And one of our finalists signed with one of the top literary managers in Beverly Hills!